The local wisdom and knowledge is now running out from the Indonesian people. I dare to say this because the fact speaks louder than the people themselves. Technologies and any fast-track-stuffs affect our style of communication. I would like to emphasize that our communication should be going on face-to-face style. We love to chit-chat, share common interests, and gossip everything (in a good way). We tend to sit in a long hours just to talk everything and discuss in a warm atmosphere. But now, when a smartphone and gadgets take over us; it has gone. Our instant message turn us into some aliens who addict to find as much as unpredictable joy and pleasure.

I would like to say that face-to-face communication as Indonesian people’s indigenous knowledge. The term indigenous knowledge appear as we were colonized by Westeners. Indigenous knowledge is viewed as an ignorant and traditional culture which is not being progressed.

Hi, again ^_^

Cangkruk’an (chit-chat)

Indigenous knowledge means if you understand something locally and how to implement it to boost your life’s productivity. The common IK in Indonesia is to have a small to large group to share a talk. As the photo above tells us; it’s called cangkruk’an. We discuss about our lives; works; even our families. It simply draws what the term “collectivism” culture in Indonesia. We like to surround by other people and have a face-to-face interaction. We are very friendly and all friends are considered to be close friends while we are having a warm discussion. If you are just sitting in the corner and not involving yourself; then you’re ignored by the group.

Face-to-face communication cause more empathy and simpathy to other people. As the people speak up, we will know about their expression, emotion, gestures, or even their dreams. It is also a form of our sincerity and caring about the society members. It reduces the mis-understanding which is used to be classical problem in gadget communication.

So, why do I consider it as Indonesian Indigenous Knowledge?

1. Because it’s different from the Westeners have. Well, if I may stereotype, most Westeners like to -just- sit in their close groups or relation or even alone. They just talk in a manner and not for a long-talk. They want to get the points as soon as possible. I have ever met some Westeners and we’ll talk about our important things.

2. The Westeners have a willing to change our cultures. We -specially for youngster- may not realize that we’re going to be alienated. By our gadgets. By our activities. By our times. We ignore the birthday of our families, we are very busy to organize our offices’ stuffs, or as students; we are very busy to do the assignments and overslept. Ah, talking about being students. Now, I am in the second year of college. I think, I just have less time to socialize due to the lack of time. Imagine! I have to be in college from 7-18. Then, I have to teach at home. Then, i have to do so many assignments. In weekend, I have still to go to campus to join the clubs and organizations. My family often complain on me. Let’s think. My university has a typically Europe design for its learning system and technical support. I think, for some cultural aspects; we adopt European culture as well. There’s less time to discuss; just do your work; work oriented.

3. I am in condition that seeing how individualist culture among students grows up! If I conduct an event just for my university’s members; it’s only a half or one-third participants of all. Well, I choose to be a positive thinker that maybe they have another activity.

4. I have researched that proving the usage of gadget in public spaces in my campus reduces the interaction among students. All respondents gave me a final answer that they need more existence in the web than in the real world. One of them even told me that she can’t live without gadget. What on earth is that fact?

Face-to-face may be a simple style of communication. However, we need to interact with people as much as we exist in the web. Human is the best friend of another human; because by directing the communication; we have it by our hearts.

